Remote community roll-out of solar power complete

09 April 2019

Construction on the largest rollout of solar in remote Australian communities is now complete.

The Solar Energy Transformation Program (SETuP) delivered by Power and Water Corporation recently completed construction on the final 15 sites, bringing the total to 25 sites across the Northern Territory.

The aim of the $59 million program, jointly funded by the Northern Territory Government and the Australian Government through the Australian Renewable Energy Agency (ARENA), is to reduce community reliance on diesel for electricity generation.

The program goal is a 15% reduction in diesel use for targeted communities over the life of the program, adding up to 94 million litres of diesel savings over a 25-year period.

Power and Water Chief Executive Michael Thomson said in addition to the fuel savings, the project delivered other invaluable outcomes, including improving the understanding of solar power in the 25 communities.

“We successfully increased the understanding of how solar power creates efficiencies, improves air quality, reduces number of heavy vehicles travelling in and out of a community and reduces greenhouse gas emissions through proactive communication and engagement,” Mr Thomson said.

“The program has been received positively and community leaders have been actively engaged to contribute to its successful delivery. The work is also contributing to the Northern Territory Government’s target of 50 per cent renewable energy by 2030.”

SETuP integrates 10MW of solar photovoltaic (PV) arrays in remote locations with existing power stations.

The program included a unique project at Nauiyu (Daly River) that combined a 1MW solar array with a 2MWh battery, allowing for 100% of solar energy use during the day with diesel engines operating at night.

The program, launched in 2014, has changed Power and Water’s remote community energy supply portfolio and made solar energy an established part of future power station design.

The 25 communities under the program are:

  1. Apatula (Finke)
  2. Areyonga
  3. Arlparra
  4. Atitjere (Hart’s Range)
  5. Bulman
  6. Daly River (PV)
  7. Galiwinku (Elcho Island)
  8. Gapuwiyak (Lake Evella)
  9. Gunbalanya (Oenpelli)
  10. Kaltukatjara (Docker River)
  11. Kintore
  12. Lajamanu
  13. Maningrida
  14. Milingimbi
  15. Milyakburra
  16. Minjilang (Croker Island)
  17. Minyerri (Hodgson Downs)
  18. Mt Liebig
  19. Ngukurr
  20. Nyirripi
  21. Ramingining
  22. Titjikala (Maryvale)
  23. Warruwi (Goulburn Island)
  24. Wurrumiyanga (Bathurst Island)
  25. Yuendumu

Contact: Media unit

Phone: 0401 117 599